Reviews

Groves Hall Bed and Breakfast

Visitors' Reviews

Luxury Accommodation

Accommodation Availability

MTWTFSS
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

 

 

 

August 2022

Balm for the soul and a feast for the eyes! Perfect host,delightful views and quirky setting.

August 2022

Lovely relaxing environment after busy days out and about. Convenient for many sights in the area but away from. the hustle and bustle. Great way to start the day being served breakfast out in the garden. Lovely and friendly hosts I’ll certainly be recommending it to friends & family

July 2022

Numi & Charles we’re exceptional hosts, the accommodation is out of this world, and an ideal base for Whitby & the local area. Charle’s is a musical legend & Numi is an acomplished hotel manager bringing all her skills to the BnB. The breakfasts are to die for, and is nothing too much for them to do. The grounds are spectacular and having breakfast whilst the local pheasant is having his also next to you is beautiful. Charles has lots of stories to tell, and will quite happily show you round the 7 acres of land.. it’s like a secret garden, every twist and turn there’s an arch into another part of the garden. We will be back

July 2022
My friend Audrey booked this as a birthday gift for me as Whitby was a place that I had always wanted to visit and the are of Sleights is less than a 15 minute bus ride. Groves Hall is set in beautiful garden with many little areas that you can sit out and if the weather is nice you can choose to have your breakfast outside, and what a choice for breakfast, there was nothing that you could ask for that didn’t appear to be available.. The accommodation itself is unique as it is almost a home from home, you enter through your own entrance to a beautiful sitting room full of character and the most amazing real fire which will be lovely in the winter, there is also access to a downstairs toilet from the room, on the other side is the access to the sleeping quarters, you go up a white wooden staircase which brings you onto a little breakfast area that you can choose to eat there if the weather wasn’t so nice and then you enter the en-suite bedroom which has two slighter larger than standard bed frames and they were extremely comfortable, (this is coming from someone who works for a company that makes beds), there is a traditional fire and the rooms are all centrally heated also, the bathroom has all that you need including the shower and a bath. Breakfast is cooked by Numi and was delicious, both Numi and Charles were excellent hosts and took the time to talk to you and to check if you needed anything or if you required any transport to be booked for you. The view from our rooms was of the garden and occasionaly we would hear the steam train passing at the front and see the puff of steam which was a delight. I will be staying here again.
July 2022
We stayed for a long weekend and it was fab. Numi & Charles go above and beyond to make the stay an enjoyable experience. The breakfasts are outstanding, the full English was exceptional and the fresh fruit option was fantastic which I really enjoyed myself. If you want an enjoyable quiet break in beautiful surroundings with the stunning Moors on the doorstep and friendly hosts give Groves Hall. Sleights. a go, you will definitely not be disappointed.
May 2022
We really enjoyed at Groves Hall! If you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place, conveniently located, close to Whitby, with luxurious breakfast and generous and great hosts, look no further. You have your own bedroom as well as a living room, 2 bathrooms and access to their lovely garden. We loved it as a relaxing base to explore Whitby, Robin Hood’s bay, got on the steam train and hikes through the great moors with purple heather in flower. Breakfast was really abundant and good quality ingredients. I very much recommend the Grove Hall to everyone who values quality accommodation and genuine hospitality. We will def go back.

 

August 2021 

Numi and Charles are great hosts. They made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Groves Hall is located in such a tranquil setting. A great base to tour from and see Whitby and the stunning Yorkshire Coastline so very nearby. We enjoyed every breakfast sat outside in the garden and what a choice of breakfast we had. They are delicious. The resident Robin joined us each morning. We played Croquet on the lawn each day and sat in the garden in an evening and enjoyed a glass of wine after our day of full walking / visiting places. We could see the occasional Steam Train pass fron our bedroom window. We would love to return in a different season and experience the lit log fires. Thankyou Numi and Charles.

July 2021

A beautiful house and gardens with attentive hosts who were only too pleased to spend time with you and chat . We had some fascinating conversations. The accommodation was lovely and breakfasts were served on the terrace and were enjoyed by both of us. It was a good base for exploring Whitby and the surrounding national park . The moors were spectacular.

July 2021

We spent 2 nights at the delightful Grove Hall.A very warm welcome from Charles who,with a much appreciated chilled glass of white wine showed us around the grounds which are just lovely to sit and relax in after a busy day out and about.The accommodation is spotless and comfortable.Breakfast was special sitting ouside under the pergola,the choice was plenty and delicious …you could easily feel that you were in the South of France,WONDERFUL.Numi and Charles are charming hosts and most helpful.Fabulous stay and would certainly return

June 2021

What an amazing find, truly beautiful location, accommodation and wonderful hosts, we were so sad to leave. Numi and Charles made us feel very spoilt and we spent a lovely candle lit evening in their summerhouse too. Thank you

June 2021

We had a fantastic experience at Grove Hall. I’m glad my friend suggested that we go there for a long weekend break. I hadn’t expected that we’d have 2 floors of space, just for us. Our living room was lovely to sit in with a huge open fire, candles and sculptures. We had the best sleep with super comfortable mattresses and soothing country views. My favourite part was the mornings. We did yoga on a majestic lawn with stunning views. We even saw an old steam train in the distance one morning. I loved the outside seating area for breakfast, surrounded by trellises, flowers and birds. The breakfast menu was delicious and so filling. Numi and Charles were fantastic hosts. They were funny, caring and helpful. We felt so relaxed. One day we went on a local waterfall walk and wandered up to the local pub for dinner. On the other days we took day trips to the coast. It was a real experience staying at Grove Hall. If I could give a 10 star review, I would. It felt like being on retreat. We left feeling nurtured and so glad that we came. I won’t forget this place and hope to come back and stay again.

June 2021

Cannot fault anything.Lovely rooms, friendly hosts and bostin’ breakfasts!

January 2020

Beautiful location. We arrived for our short break and were met by Numi and immediately felt comfortable in our surroundings. The house is very beautiful set in lovely accessible gardens. We had a winter break and could imagine how the summer will transform the outside areas provided for guests to sit out and enjoy the views, the river flowing just below also lovely to see. Our room and beds were very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. We met Charles too and enjoyed our conuly 2021versations. There are so many objects of interest to see around their home and this adds to the ambiance. We walked into Whitby via Ruswarp and walked alongside the railway lines . Great walk. Our breakfasts were a delight, we had cooked full English breakfasts both mornings served on our mezzanine ,home made jam with toast to follow, there was a good selection of other items too if we preferred. Would definitely recommend a stay here ,it’s so welcoming and ideally placed in unique surroundings. Thank you Numi and Charles

 

November 2019.

What a Gem we’ve found in Whitby… The location and the property was stunning… we booked a twin room at Groves Hall and when we turned up our amazing hosts Numi and Charles told us that we also got the lounge area complete with a log burning open fire to relax in blew us away… our beds were the comfiest we have slept in by far  and the bathroom was large and very clean with a great shower over bath and a heated towel rail for when you had done… and what about the breakfast i hear you say…. well it was flippin fantastic and the coffee… OMG the best coffee ever…. we didn’t think our stay could get any better until the second morning we went outside before breakfast to be greeted by wild deer foraging in the orchard WOW…. The grounds to the property are just as stunning… with seven acres of beauty to get lost in and so much to see, smell and enjoy including their own private stretch of river at the bottom of the garden which you can fish for salmon and sea trout… if your a train buff then heck yes they have them too, steam trains run regular along the side of the river… to sum up… it was like going home to visit your parents and been spoiled rotten…. would we go again i hear you ask…. hell yes, we’ve already booked from the end of May. Numi and Charles from our hearts THANK YOU and we will see you again soon x

October 2019

Our hosts were extremely welcoming and made us feel like valued guests in their home. Loved the accommodation at Groves Hall, with its vintage feel and contemporary accents. The house is set in beautiful tiered gardens offering a haven for birds. We didn’t venture down to the River Esk  that runs through the gardens but in the summer I can imagine enjoying a restful afternoon on the bank.


 

 

 

 

 

September 2019

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Groves Hall. Location, our host Numi, the old world feel of the whole house, antiques that filled the house and were in use, (not just there to be admired), the wonderful garden, breakfast on the terrace, the little sitting room we had all to ourselves, the cats and much more. Breakfast menu is extensive. Numi is such a great chirpy person and really seems to love what she does. Location was well situated as base to visit the moors and also head to Whitby and the sea.

September 2019

Beautiful place in a very quiet area. Awesome views from the gardens and owners who can’t do enough for you.

September 2019

Numi & Charles are fantastic hosts. They were extremely welcoming & accommodating. Nothing was a problem at all. Everything was fantastic, from the rooms to breakfast. Oh & the beds were divine to sleep on.

August 2019

Visited last year and wanted to return. Lovely hosts. Relaxing breakfast in the beautiful garden.

August 2019

The incredible owners who know how to make you feel at home. The warm welcome with a wow factor. The remarkable place full of charm. The delicious break fast. The breathtaking view over the valley. The quietness in the lovely garden. …. Everything from start to finish!

August 2019

Incredible place – what experienced travellers look for yet rarely find – a place full of charm, history and character in a stunning location. Plus incredible owners who know how to make you feel at home.

August 2019

Very welcoming I would highly recommend Grove Hall. There is also a secure place to leave your motorbike. I will definitely be going back on my next visit to Whitby.

July 2019

Delightful stay in Numi and Charles’ house. Our hosts welcomed us warmly, with tea in the garden. The grounds and the house decorations were exactly to our taste – carefully thought-out and executed but with no rigidity; a real home. The room was very comfortable, with a great view onto the garden and, further away, the North York Moors steam railway. Breakfast to die for – both full English, for me, and a lighter version, based on fresh fruit and delicious crêpes, for my partner. Idealy situated for visiting Whitby, Robin Hood”s Bay and the villages in the North York Moors. A definite “must stay here again”.

July 2019

This was our 2nd time with Numi and Charles, we really appreciated there company, we really enjoyed our stay for 2 nights they are lovely and kind Hosts, the breakfast was brilliant, I couldn’t thank them enough for what they did for us, and we will definitely be returning again, I would recommend friends and family to come and stay with them.

July 2019

Only one word to describe our stay and that is EXCELLENT.

How to book a bed and breakfast stay

Prior booking by credit/debit card preferred.
Call us on 07717 407 567 or 01947 810765

: info@thestonehouse.co.uk

 

Accommodation Terms and Conditions